Saturday, March 31, 2007

Black Swan Network - The Late Music vol.1,CD,1997,USA/Australia

The Black Swan Network is the experimental side project of The Olivia Tremor Control.
The Late Music is an 8 track, hour long ambient CD released by the Australian label Camera Obscura in 1997. It features contributions from Julian Koster (The Music Tapes and Neutral Milk Hotel) and Jeff Mangum (also Neutral Milk Hotel).
An EP was also released with The Olivia Tremor Control. Within some of these tracks are extracts from The Black Swan Network's dream appeal - taped contributions from people as to various dreams they've had or would like to have. Musical contributions come from Kirk Pleasant (from Calvin, Don't Jump!) and Roxanne Martin (fablefactory).
In January 2001, Happy Happy Birthday to Me records released a 7" single as part of their singles club.
Other projects involving Black Swan Network members:The Olivia Tremor Control, The Circulatory System, Pipes You See, Pipes You Don't, Sunshine Fix, Frosted Ambassador .
From Elephant six web page

Camera Obscura is proud to bring you "The Late Music (Volume One)", a full-length CD of experimental/ambient tape manipulations by Olivia Tremor Control side-project Black Swan Network. In the unlikely case that you wondered what those strange interludes between the four-part harmony pop gems of OTC's "Dusk at Cubist Castle" would sound like developed into pieces in their own right, here is your chance to find out. "The Late Music" on conceptually from the two and four channel extravaganzas that can be found on the bonus disc of sound experiments shipped with early copies of the "Dusk at Cubist Castle" CD and also on OTC's "The Opera House" and "Jumping Fences" EPs.
Any attempts to describe the seven pieces that make up this release are bound to fall short of the mark, because this is not much like anything we have ever heard before. The sounds created for this release only occasionally give any kind of clue about what was used to create them. For one track, Elephant 6 collective member Eric Ledford contributes an oblique cello improvisation. For another, the voices of infants laughing and crying are brilliantly multiplied and sequenced and processed for an effect that has been observed to create near hysteria in the listener. But on most of the seven tracks here, Black Swan Network have used the source material as an abstract resource to be sculpted into dreamlike Musique Concrete.
The packaging for this disc is non-jewel case, instead coming in a gate-fold card sleeve with tri-fold insert. All art is by Black Swan Network's Will Cullen, also responsible for those amazing Olivia Tremor Control covers.
Press release from :

get this ,long out of print, gem here


Richard said...

Great to see some more Aussie stuff being posted here, haven't heard of any of these bands =S

kidrobottt said...

Cool, but how can I download this?